Personal Responses, Slumdog Millionaire

I have recently viewed a film directed by Danny Boyle, and written by Simon Beaufoy, named Slumdog Millionaire. This film is about an 18 years old Indian boy called Jamal Malik, he is from the slums of Juhu of Mumbai. He appears on the Indian version of ‘who wants to be a Millionaire?’. Because he comes from poverty, and from the slums everyone assumes he is cheating because he has exceeded everyone’s expectation. He knows the answers to the questions, from past experiences which is shown in the film.

Something that I found interesting is how when their village was raided by Hindi’s and Jamal and Salim were running for their lives and they came across a young boy who was dressed as the God Rama, which is the god that the Hindi religion praises.

I found this very interesting, and a little relatable but yet not so relatable if you get what I am trying to say? Well It made me think of how I was growing up. One of my Grandmother was all for catholic and not really praising any other god, but she still had a bit of a connection to the Atua Maori (Maori God’s). Where’s my other Grandmother she was all about Atua Maori and all it’s aspects. So when I was growing up I would attend Catholic festivals, and Catholic gatherings, and now in my teenage years I have seen how difficult it is to keep one culture happy whilst believing in another. And nowadays I am frequently asked which god do I believe in the most? How can I karakia (scared chant) to a Maori god, but still go to church? Do I prefer Church or Marae (meeting place for the tribe)? Do  I believe in God or God’s? And still to this day I have not made a decision. And that is what I saw in this scene, as Jamal and his brother came across this young child dressed as the God Rama, Jamal did not feel hatred towards this child, he did not discourage him for his religion. But just simply walked away. Because he is torn between two religions.I was really shocked to see how young children in India live. What kind of place Jamal lived in. The Slums, where their main source of shelter, and coverage is rubbish. They lived in and on rubbish. It was a hellhole, rubbish piled and piled on top of more rubbish, it was not a good sight to see. But despite the rubbish and the dirt they still managed to have fun. Everyday was a mission to stay alive, living in the slums is all about survival.

I sympathised with my whole heart to see the kind of life they lived, it made me feel grateful to have a normal teenage life, a roof over my head, clothes to keep me warm, food on the table, and last but not least internet access which is the biggest thing in modern days. It tells me to not take anything for granted. I feel more and more sympathetic every time I think of that sight. No child should live in a place like that. It is completely and utterly horrific!

Despite all the unforgettable scenes I saw in this movie I loved it! Because it showed another side of a film, which is not often seen, the poverty side of a life and all it’s struggle’s. And I would recommend this film. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Personal Responses, Slumdog Millionaire

  1. whaeajo says:

    Great reflections Winirangi. Just a few word changes and separating your paragraphs out, and its ready to go 🙂

Leave a comment